Portal users will get the Closed & Reopen buttons to update the status of the Cases. By clicking on any status, the portal user can check the Closed case or Reopen the closed case as per need.
If the portal users click on the “Close” button, the case will be closed, and the Re-Open button will appear there. The portal user will not be able to edit the closed cases further.
But if the portal users click on “Re-Open”, the case can be edited again.